Fuzzy-Felt Review : Classic Toys!

35 years ago, when I was a small child, there weren’t as many toys around as there are today.  I remember a few from my childhood with very fond memories.  My pull along telephone, my tea set and my sewing kit are a few that stand out. Along with these, another favourite was my Fuzzy-Felt set!


I loved my Fuzzy-Felt! The softness of the pieces, the ease of being able to build different worlds and the creativeness of it just appealed to me greatly.  I remember spending hours immersed in my own world. Talking to my parents about it now, my mum remembers it for one key reason – it made no noise and no mess! 


Fuzzy Felt Review









So, when we were approached to review a Fuzzy-Felt set, I was excited to introduce a childhood
love to my children.  Both of the children have a glut of toys – we have spent a huge amount of time over the two years they have been home, trying to find toys that would both appeal to them for their age range and also for their emotional age range – two things that don’t always go hand in hand with toys.  I had been wondering for a while whether toys from my childhood, slightly more simple toys, might actually do the trick – so this was a great opportunity to find out!


The Newby Tribe review the classic children's toy, Fuzzy Felt.

Little Miss was so excited to receive the Fuzzy-Felt set, and immediately wanted to open it and play with it.  She had a little shock when we opened it to realise that firstly, nothing moved or made noise, and secondly that it would take some time to prepare and punch out all of the felt pieces. But, unusually for her, she carefully spent the best part of 15 minutes removing the felt pieces and laying them out on the table.  The excitement in her voice when she recognised a person, a house or an animal was lovely to see!


The Newby Tribe review the classic children's toy, Fuzzy Felt.

Once we had all the pieces out, I was pleased to see that included in the set was a handy suggestion guide.  Little Miss is still working on developing her imagination, so this suggestion guide meant that she could get stuck in straight away. It was delightful to work alongside her to build the world, and we were discussing the different characters as we built it – building her vocabulary as we played. We even read the ‘story’ on the suggestion guide, which encouraged Little Miss to build on the ideas and begin to build a story around her creation.


The Newby Tribe review the classic children's toy, Fuzzy Felt.

An hour later, Little Miss was still absorbed by her new Fuzzy-Felt set.  Little Sir kept coming in to see the new developments and she couldn’t wait to show Paul when he came home from work. But, for me, the way to know if a toy really appeals to the children is to see how often they play with it independently. So imagine my delight when the Fuzzy-Felt set appeared day after day, and both children are still inventing story lines and creations.  Now, that is the sign of a great toy!  



Fuzzy-Felt sets can be purchased from the John Adams website. There are so many sets to choose, from ponies, builders, butterflies and the safari one that we reviewed – there’s bound to be a set which appeals to your little ones! 



Disclosure: We were sent the Fuzzy-Felt set in return for an honest review.  All opinions are my own.

Want To Join Our Tribe?

Join our Tribe today to get great insider tips from a Headteacher about everything from bullying to school lunches to talking to the class teacher!

Powered by ConvertKit
Share:

42 Comments

  1. September 30, 2017 / 9:01 am

    Oooooooooo I DIDN’T KNOW THEY MADE THESE AGAIN!!! I’m so going to pick a box up as a Christmas present 🙂

    • cherrynewby
      September 30, 2017 / 6:12 pm

      They are brilliant aren’t they!

  2. September 30, 2017 / 9:51 am

    What a blast from the past! I used to LOVE fuzzy felt! Would be a great thing to take to entertain kids on a plane too…

    • cherrynewby
      September 30, 2017 / 6:12 pm

      Oooh, that’s a great idea Emma – I hadn’t thought about that! In fact we are going on a cruise later this year and I think I might take a set each for them then!

  3. September 30, 2017 / 9:57 am

    Aw, that looks like a great toy! I didn’t have a fuzzy felt when I was a kid, but I do remember playing with them at friend’s houses and they definitely were good for imaginative play.

    • cherrynewby
      September 30, 2017 / 6:11 pm

      They really are – my kids are busy building whole stories around the characters – loving listening to them!

    • cherrynewby
      September 30, 2017 / 6:10 pm

      My daughter really really loved it. I don’t think she’s ever seen anything like it!

  4. September 30, 2017 / 1:38 pm

    I loved this stuff so much when I was a kid. I had loads of sets. My favourite was fairies. I didn’t know they still made it!
    Debbie

    • cherrynewby
      September 30, 2017 / 6:10 pm

      I didn’t know either but I’m so pleased I found them! I’m going to buy another set for my son and think they might be ‘in car’ toys!

  5. September 30, 2017 / 1:44 pm

    I used to love Fuzzy Felt when I was little! May have to look out for a few sets x

    • cherrynewby
      September 30, 2017 / 6:09 pm

      Me too! I couldn’t believe how many different sets they have now!

  6. September 30, 2017 / 3:55 pm

    I love toys like this, nothing beats a classic! Also, if you were little 35 years ago, you are looking v good for it!!

    • cherrynewby
      September 30, 2017 / 6:08 pm

      Awww, thanks so much for that 🙂 – I hit 40 next year so that’s made me smile a lot! xx

  7. September 30, 2017 / 4:52 pm

    Wow this stuff is still around? I had loads of this when I was little. I’ll have to find some for my three!

    • cherrynewby
      September 30, 2017 / 6:07 pm

      It’s brilliant isn’t it! And now there are so many different choices!!

  8. September 30, 2017 / 8:43 pm

    I loved fuzzy felt as a child.

    • cherrynewby
      October 1, 2017 / 4:15 pm

      Me too!! I’m so pleased it’s back!

  9. October 6, 2017 / 9:22 am

    Fuzzy felts are definitely on the Christmas list for my two after reading this, I had no idea you could still get them! Thanks so much for hosting and for sharing with #Blogstravaganza, it’s great to have you! Xx

    • cherrynewby
      October 6, 2017 / 9:50 am

      I’m so pleased to be co hosting :). And I really do love the fuzzy felts – I’m so glad that I found them too! #blogstravaganza

  10. Jo - Cup of Toast
    October 6, 2017 / 11:25 am

    I love Fuzzy Felt! When I got married I organised a box of goodies for the children attending to play with, and searched high and low for Fuzzy Felt. I did manage to get some, eventually, but it’s good to know it’s easier to find now! #Blogstravaganza

    • cherrynewby
      October 6, 2017 / 12:19 pm

      Oh that sounds like such a great idea for a wedding!! I’m planning on taking ours on our holiday as something to keep them quiet and playing in the car and no worries about small pieces being lost! x

  11. October 6, 2017 / 12:22 pm

    I SO HAVE TO GET SOME OF THESE! For the Little Man, of course! Ahem! I used to love them. Great to hear they’re back! #blogstravaganza

  12. October 6, 2017 / 2:28 pm

    I remember this from school! My three year old daughter would love it, will definitely be putting it on her Christmas list #Blogstravaganza

  13. October 7, 2017 / 3:35 pm

    We have fuzzy felt, I love the simplicity of it and the texture to it. I also love that is great way to get your child to be creative X #Blogstravaganza

  14. October 7, 2017 / 7:52 pm

    I used to love Fuzzy Felt! I had a witchy one and loved it. We bought my daughter a Minnie Mouse one a while back, ideal for mess-free creative play #Blogstravaganza

  15. October 8, 2017 / 3:49 pm

    OMG! FUZZY FELT!!!!!!!
    what a blast from the past. I must find my son some! this is like a blast from the past of my own childhood. I loved fuzzy felt, my favourite set was in a black tin. haha. #Blogstravaganza

  16. Susan Cooper
    October 8, 2017 / 8:34 pm

    I love a fuzzy felt. We have a set that must be 60 years old – it was my mums and all the characters are Noddy. You’re right, it’s so lovely to watch our children play with the toys we found fun when we were small #blogstravaganza

    • cherrynewby
      October 8, 2017 / 11:34 pm

      Oh how very very lovely to still have one from when your mum was young. I wish we still had mine from when I was a child – I know my kids would have loved to play with it!

  17. Jo - Pickle & Poppet
    October 8, 2017 / 10:14 pm

    Fuzzy felt was one of my favourites! So much choice and can create so much. I said that I would like to get some for our on as I think he would enjoy it as well. #Blogstravaganza

    • cherrynewby
      October 8, 2017 / 11:32 pm

      I was amazed by how much my children loved it – it’s now become a firm favourite!

  18. October 9, 2017 / 8:39 pm

    woah!! major flashback! yay so happy it’s back.. totally getting ben some of this for christmas! #blogstravaganza

    • cherrynewby
      October 9, 2017 / 8:52 pm

      They are fab aren’t they!! Can’t wait for the kids to open some more of them on xmas morning!

  19. October 10, 2017 / 7:52 pm

    I loved the fuzzy felt toy so much as a kid that I picked a set up for my eldest at a carboot sale over the summer. #Blogstravaganza

    • cherrynewby
      October 11, 2017 / 1:39 pm

      What a fab buy! I might have to keep an eye out at car boots for some as well!

  20. October 10, 2017 / 8:46 pm

    I used to love fuzzy felt! I’m so glad it’s still about, I can’t wait until L is old enough to play calmly with that kind of thing. #blogstravaganza

    • cherrynewby
      October 11, 2017 / 1:38 pm

      I really love the fact my two are old enough to play with it quietly and not eat it! (The kittens on the other hand…..!!) x

    • cherrynewby
      October 11, 2017 / 1:37 pm

      It’s fab isn’t it 🙂 x

  21. Family Makes
    October 11, 2017 / 6:59 pm

    Maaaaannnnn! I used to LOVE fuzzy felt! Every child should be introduced to this, if they haven’t been already! We’ll all dash out to buy them now. #Blogstravaganza

    • cherrynewby
      October 12, 2017 / 10:02 am

      I totally agree! I hadn’t realised how fab the children would find it – but I’m so chuffed that we’ve found a quiet toy they love!

Leave a Reply